Growing a Critter

We’re growing him on the outside now

Pumping July 21, 2008

Filed under: body weirdness,profession,travel — crittermama @ 9:02 pm
Tags:

Finally! Someone else out there can hear their breast pump talking to them! I came across the following story earlier today: My breast pump talks to me (BabyCenter.com).

I have heard mine “say” several different things. The most common is “little man little man little man.” First it was pretty creepy, but I came to think of it as a reminder about my baby boy. I’ve also heard it say “over here over here.” Other commenters have heard their pumps saying “wake up wake up” and “kill Bob kill Bob.” So in comparison, mine’s not too bad.

Also not bad was the fact that the Chattanooga Trade & Convention Center appropriated a room for me to pump in during the Society for Conservation Biology conference! It was a glorified closet, but it had a lock on the door, chairs and a sink! I’m very grateful. Here’s the sign that someone put on the outside of the door.

Pumping room at SCB

Ok, so it was maybe not the most subtle sign ever, but still!

I pumped twice a day during the conference, and I plan to do the same this week. For the next two weeks, I’ll pump once a day. My first day of no pumping at work will be August 8th. Happy Birthday to me. I’ll keep breastfeeding the critter morning and evening for a while, but the end of our time is coming. It’s kind of sad, but it’s time. Wish us luck!

 

3 Responses to “Pumping”

  1. Hillary Says:

    Good luck! I’m lucky that my pumping at work days ended early given that I can go home at lunch. I’ve been pump free since June I guess. I will be so sad when the bf is over, but waving goodbye to that machine was a joyous and celebratory event. Yeah August 8! (And happy birthday).

  2. allison Says:

    Wow, I didnt realize that they blocked off a room just for you. How cool is that?

    I gotta say, NOT pumping makes me very happy. He’s still nursing a few times a day, but at least I dont have to deal with the pump!

    And yes, my pump TOTALLY talked to me.

  3. Jennifer Says:

    I got very nostalgic about ending breastfeeding about a month before we stopped. So I know just how you are feeling. I had stopped pumping long before that, of course, since I didn’t have much luck with it. But it just seemed hard for me to come to terms with the fact that we’d be winding down our breastfeeding.


Leave a Reply

