Growing a Critter

We’re growing him on the outside now

Merry Christmas! Have food poisoning! December 19, 2007

Filed under: body weirdness,family,health,holidays — crittermama @ 10:59 pm

Several years ago, a friend and colleague gave me a pair of socks for Christmas, and the tag read, “Merry Christmas! Have socks!” And I still say that every time I pull on a pair of Christmas-themed socks. (Yes, I have more than one pair.) And I’ll maintain for a long time that getting a pair of socks for Christmas is sooooo much better than the case of food poisoning that the deli around the corner gave me on Monday.

In my quest to find a lunch place that I could trust not to put unwanted dairy products into my food, I visited a couple of local delis and such around my office. I wanted to read the labels on the bread, since some bread does have dairy added to it. The first place had no labels on the bread (no labels?!? what’s that all about?!?) and the only writing on the tortilla packages was instructions on how to fold a tortilla. So I moved on to the deli in the liquor store behind my building. They let me read labels on the bread and, triumphant, I ordered a turkey club sandwich.

I will NEVER eat there again. Around 5:00 or so, I started to feel a little funny. I cooked dinner, but couldn’t bring myself to eat any of it, and lay down on the couch to rest while Dave took care of the Critter and put him to bed. I started to vomit around 9:00, and it just kept coming. I’ve never barfed so much in my life, even with morning sickness, even with hangovers, even with migranes. It was at least every 45 minutes for the next 12 hours. I had nothing in me and couldn’t keep anything down at all. I could feel the fluid leaving my body as I fed the Critter overnight, and I got really worried about being able to keep up my milk supply.

We called his pediatrician and my primary doctor, and they both told me to go to the ER to get some fluids if I couldn’t keep any fluids down within the next hour. After hanging up with doctor #2, I threw up immediately. Dave took the Critter to day care, and then we went to the ER. I only barfed once in triage, but it was bad: I was seeing bright lights and thought I would pass out. The upside is that I learned about the handy-dandy barf bags that hospitals have. It’s a plastic ring with a baggie attached to it. Portable and easy! Woot!

Another thing I learned: our closest hospital has three separate waiting areas before you actually get into the ER. In waiting room #3, I couldn’t sit any longer and just had to lay down on the floor. Several people passed by, worried about me, but it wasn’t until a very authoritative woman came by, and called the ER to get a place for me to lay down that I cared that I was laying on the floor. Turns out that she was the director of the ER. Nice timing!

Long story short (too late): I got 2.5 bags of saline, my BP was really low for a long time (sounds familiar), my blood tests came out ok, my urine tests came out ok (including the negative result on a pregnancy test, thank GOD), and an abdominal x-ray came out ok. I was released just in time for us to pick up the Critter from day care.

Since then, I’ve had a gallon of gatorade, a bunch of sprite, some chicken broth, and even a few pieces of bread. I got some good rest last night and felt much better today. Of course all of our Christmas prep is now two days behind and I’m worried about getting our gifts to family before Christmas day, but I’m able to walk, so it all works out in the end.

Yay for IV fluids!

 

6 Responses to “Merry Christmas! Have food poisoning!”

  1. Rob Says:

    Yay for fluids indeed! I’m so sorry, I know that feeling all too well.

    Glad you’re feeling better now. We gave up on gifting on time already. Our priority is parenting, not gift giving! I’m refusing to give up Abby time to stand in line at the Post Office.

  2. ann Says:

    oh my goodness. that’s horrible! boo deli.
    I’m so glad you’re on the mend, now.
    Merry Christmas!

  3. alianora Says:

    Yikes! And gross! And full of badness! Im glad you’re feeling better, and that the Critter didnt have any ill effects..at least, Im hoping he didnt.

  4. Melisa Says:

    I’m glad you are better and that there is not more Yomit. I do have to say that the description of the deli (inside the liquor store) gave me a mental picture of a place in Chicago that I would never eat at. EVER

  5. Fritz Says:

    wow. i’m so sorry to hear about this, but so happy to know that you’re feeling better. what a crap layout. but hey! at least you now have an excellent candidate for “first deli i’m gonna bomb when i become a mad deli bomber.”

  6. Jennifer Says:

    You poor poor child. We had rotovirus right before Christmas last year, and we managed to bring it east with us to inflict upon all our relatives, just in time for the holidays. Merry Christmas from Typhoid William. I am glad that you are bouncing back, but oof, I am SO sorry that you had to go through that!


Leave a Reply

