Growing a Critter

We’re growing him on the outside now

My new best friend, the snot sucker December 9, 2007

Filed under: body weirdness,health,profession — crittermama @ 4:50 pm

All hail the bulb syringe! We’ve got three of them, but the only one worth it’s salt is the one we stole from the hospital. The little guy and I both started getting stuffy last week, and I had hoped that it was just a side effect from the cold weather.

And snow! We had snow! Here’s the critter with his Pa:

sNoah and Pa

And with me:

sNoah and Mama

Sorry for the crappy cell phone pictures, but of course our GOOD camera had a dead battery. Bother!

Anyway! Back to my baby’s nose and nasal discharge! We’ve used a humidifier in the room for a couple of months now, since he’s always been a little snurffly, and we’ve had to clear his nose a time or two in the past. But wow. We’ve never gotten anything like what we’re seeing now. It is SO SATISFYING to clear his nose. And he can tell a difference, too. At first, he’d cry and scream, but this morning, he actually SMILED at me as I went after him with the bulb syringe. Crazy kid.

We’re keeping him home from day care tomorrow, which means that we’re each giving up a half day of work. I’ll take him to the pediatrician tomorrow morning, and Dave’s going to come home in the afternoon so I can get some work done. It’s not a whole lot of fun for the little guy to be all stoppered up, and we want to make sure that we’re doing the right things. It’s probably just a regular old cold, but we just want to be sure.

On another front, we’ve found the Sleep Lady’s book, and we’re both making our way through it. I hope this one helps!

 

49 Responses to “My new best friend, the snot sucker”

  1. allison Says:

    the bulb syringe (or, as its known here, “the snot sucker”) is indeed a wonderful thing.

    of course, the Dark Lord is fairly certain that using it constitutes TORTURE and STOP IT STOP IT STOP IIEEETTT!

    Good times. You should hear him when we try to do something REALLY horrible! Like, wipe his face!

  2. racher Says:

    I thought i was the only one who found sweet satisfaction in the extraction of copious gooey snot from my small infant’s nose! mostly it was the noise…shhhlllluuuuurrrrrppppp. Ah. Music to my ears. It would be great if we could use it on our 2 and a half year old, because he sniffs every .01 seconds and has yet to figure out what “blowing” means.
    Also, we called it the booger sucker.

  3. Abby’s drainage ramped up right before her tooth began coming in…. If you’re both stuffy, though, that is probably not the cause. :o)

    Abby and the Dark Lord seem to have the same reaction. We went out and bought a battery-powered one! In and out before she notices, most times. It took some practice by each of us, but now we are huge fans!

    We got ours at Target, but here it is on Amazon:
    http://www.amazon.com/B%C3%A9b%C3%A9Sounds-Nasal-Battery-Operated-Aspirator/dp/B000JGD5CA/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=baby-products&qid=1197286111&sr=1-1

  4. Heather Says:

    Ah yes, the boogie getter is a wonderful contraption. I know every parent has their 2 cents on sleeping suggestions – for us I swear by Dr. Marc Weissbluth’s book “Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child”. I found that Mary Carter was ready for me to enforce a sleep routine around 5 mos, and it changed my life. Love the snow pics – it was 75 degrees here today!

  5. Jennifer Says:

    They make battery-powered snot suckers now? Where were those this time last year when I had the baby with the snottiest nose in five states???

    Love the snow pictures. Love any pictures with the critter and his parents.

  6. source Says:

    You ought to really moderate the remarks listed here

  7. I Am Going To have to visit again whenever my course load lets up – however I am taking your Feed so i can go through your internet site offline. Cheers.

  8. How come you dont have your site viewable in mobile format? cant see anything in my Droid.

  9. webaddress Says:

    Have you thought about adding some videos to the article? I think it might enhance everyones understanding.

  10. Do you have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was questioning your scenario; we now have developed some nice techniques and we are searching to swap solutions with other people, be positive to shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  11. This website has got some really useful stuff on it! Thanks for informing me!

  12. buy leather wallets Says:

    This blog site has some really helpful stuff on it. Thank you for sharing it with me.

  13. principles Says:

    Nice post . Cheers for, posting on this blog dude! Ill message you soon! I did not know that!

  14. I have got one suggestion for your site. It seems like right now there are a couple of cascading stylesheet problems while opening a selection of web pages in google chrome as well as firefox. It is running okay in internet explorer. Possibly you can double check that.

  15. I had been wanting to know if you ever thought of replacing the page layout of your website? Its very well written; I enjoy what you have got to state. But maybe you can add a little more in the way of written content so people might connect to it better. You have got a great deal of text for only having one or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  16. Wanted to drop a remark and let you know your Feed is not working today. I tried adding it to my Yahoo reader account but got absolutely nothing.

  17. How come you do not have your web site viewable in mobile format? Can not view anything in my iPhone.

  18. How do you make your blog look this cool!? Email me if you can and share your wisdom. Id be thankful!

  19. like i said Says:

    If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your website? I am searching for a very good web host and your website appears to be extremely fast and up most the time

  20. website Says:

    Please message me with a few pointers on how you made your site look this awesome , Id be appreciative.

  21. When I start your Feed it appears to be a ton of junk, is the problem on my side?

  22. this month Says:

    While I actually like this post, I think there was an punctuational error close towards the finish of your 3rd sentence.

  23. Just to let you know your website looks a little bit strange on Safari on my computer using Linux .

  24. Could you message me with any pointers on how you made this website look this cool, Id be appreciative.

  25. pretty valuable stuff, all round I imagine this is worthy of a book mark, cheers

  26. It seems to me that this web site doesnt load on a Motorola Droid. Are other folks having the same issue? I like this web site and dont want to have to skip it any time Im gone from my computer.

  27. Cool post ! Cheers for, writing on my blog page man. Ill message you some time. I did not realise that.

  28. website Says:

    Although I actually like this publish, I believe there was an spelling error close to the finish from the 3rd sentence.

  29. Please message me with any tips about how you made your blog site look this awesome , I would be appreciative!

  30. I tried viewing your web site on my cellphone and the format does not seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most smartphone layouts are not working with your web site.

  31. site preview Says:

    Have you considered adding some differing opinions to the article? I think it might enhance viewers understanding.

  32. This blog is pretty cool! How was it made .

  33. Have you thought about adding some differing opinions to your article? I think it might enhance everyones understanding.

  34. save on Says:

    The structure for your web site is a tad off in Epiphany. Even So I like your site. I might have to install a normal browser just to enjoy it.

  35. If you could email me with any tips about how you made this blog look like this , I would be thankful.

  36. www Says:

    The design for your web site is a little bit off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your website. I may need to use a normal browser just to enjoy it.

  37. I was wondering if you ever considered switching the design of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to state. But maybe you could include a a bit more in the way of written content so people can connect to it better. You have got an awful lot of wording for only having one or two graphics. Maybe you can space it out better?

  38. When I at first commented I clicked the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and currently each and every time a remark is added I receive four email messages with the identical comment.

  39. Even though I really like this post, I believe there was an punctuational error shut towards the end of the third section.

  40. I think one of your current ads caused my internet browser to resize, you may well need to put that on your blacklist.

  41. I Am Going To have to come back again whenever my course load lets up – nevertheless I am getting your Feed so i could read your blog offline. Thanks.

  42. really beneficial stuff, overall I imagine this is worthy of a bookmark, thank you

  43. Hello, I just hopped over to your web-site thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would usually read, but I liked your views none the less. Thank you for creating something well worth reading through.

  44. I Am Going To have to visit again when my course load lets up – nevertheless I am taking your Feed so i could go through your site offline. Thanks.

  45. […] product reviews sites good products reviews products reviews here product reviews click best good site home good products reviews product best products reviews top products see here see here products […]

  46. Devon Says:

    It’s easy on to apply and requires only basic understanding about yourself. The point for you to have cash spend your mortgage, outlay and living prices for seeral mnths in case yourself lose your take-home pay.

  47. Wonderful website. Lots of helpful info here.

    I’m sending it to several pals ans also sharing in
    delicious. And certainly, thanks on your sweat!

  48. Shenna Says:

    I personally was basically browsing for plans for my very own weblog and stumbled upon ur post, “My new
    best friend, the snot sucker | Growing a Critter”, would you
    care in the event that I really start using a bit of of ur
    tips? Appreciate it -Annmarie

  49. Salvador Says:

    I was suggested this website by my cousin. I am not sure
    whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my problem.

    You’re incredible! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

