Growing a Critter

We’re growing him on the outside now

Parenting Hurts December 3, 2007

Filed under: body weirdness,health,holidays — crittermama @ 6:19 pm

I knew about the lack of sleep that would come with being a new parent, and the possibility that many days would come and go without my benefitting from a shower. I knew that there would be late nights worrying about something or other. I knew that we’d struggle with setting the right boundaries, and that someday, we’d be up all night waiting for the teenaged critter to come home. What I didn’t realize is that parenting is one big repetitive stress injury waiting to happen.

Both Dave and I have tennis elbow and creaking knees and NOW I’ve got some sort of strange tendon thing in the first knuckle of my left index finger. What is THAT?!? And how did that happen? When I rotate my left wrist, I can feel a popping in my left elbow. I know this is because of how I’ve held the critter while nursing him and that I tend to hold him in my left arm when we’re bouncing, dancing or swaying. But what the heck is going on in that joint and how do I get it to go away? I suspect that the critter will continue to require food, comfort and mama-induced motion, so… now what?

In his (HIM!) health news, we had our follow up with the pediatric GI doc today. I’m to continue with the dairy restrictions, especially since we saw a spot or two of blood last week in his diaper following my inadvertent consumption of some whey-containing bread. But the doc said that I should “challenge” it again before we come back for our next follow up in 3-4 months. He also said I could probably have a piece of cake if I were at a birthday party but… yeah, I’m not going to do that. So no buttery, creamy holiday goodies for me! Unless they’re vegan. Got any vegan goodies for me?

Of course you all want to know about his stats, right? Here you go:
Head circumference: 16.75 inches
Length: 24.5 inches
Weight: 16.5 pounds

Oh yeah!

 

One Response to “Parenting Hurts”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    That’s a big critter you’ve got there, Natalya! It’s so great to hear how big he’s getting. I can’t believe he’s going to be four months old later this month.

    As for your elbow, go see your doctor. I developed severe tendonitis in my right wrist–from the way I was holding the baby while nursing, and it got aggravated from other repetitive motions. It got to the point where I was severely limited in the range of motion, and I had to get x-rays and physical therapy and wear a brace full time for months. It did finally go away, but it was a pain in the neck…er, wrist…when it was still with me. Get your elbow looked at now!


Leave a Reply

