Growing a Critter

We’re growing him on the outside now

2 week checkup! September 4, 2007

Filed under: development — crittermama @ 5:12 pm

We took the Critter to his pediatrician (who we love!) for his 2-week checkup today, and all is well. Hooray! He weighed in at an impressive (to us, at least) 8 pounds, 15.6 ounces – just 0.4 ounces shy of 9 pounds! His lowest weight in the hospital was 7 pounds even, so the little guy has already chunked up a good bit.

He’s growing and changing so much every day. I swear his nose has changed shape at least six times by now. People have asked us who we think he looks like – so far, he mostly looks like himself rather than either of us. He has enormously chubby cheeks and these fantastic forehead wrinkles. No deliberate smiles yet, but he does give us funny crooked grins while he sleeps. I got two full-on (sleeping) smiles AND what I think was a (sleeping) laugh today after a feeding.

My mom is coming to help out for about 10 days, and her plane is probably landing right about now. So many of our friends have dropped by with food and warm wishes, and it’s been terrific. We really are so grateful for what everyone has done. I feel awful because I had NO CLUE that such simple things were so helpful and appreciated when my friends have had babies in the past. We didn’t do any such thing to help out, and we now know that we’ve got a LOT of baby karma to pay back!

My recovery is coming along pretty well. Every day I feel a little stronger. We walked the Critter down to the local Labor Day parade yesterday – we caught about 10 minutes of it – and back home, which was my most strenuous exertion thus far. It was slow, slow, and I rested most of the rest of the day. My 4-week checkup is in two weeks, and I should have a better idea then of how long it will be until I can go for a walk – or even a run! – again.

Yes, I know I need to post pictures. Promise to do it soon!!!

 

6 Responses to “2 week checkup!”

  1. Heather Says:

    Hope you are getting settled into a routine! I know what you mean about people bringing food – since having Mary Carter, I now know that when friends have babies what they really need is some FOOD!

  2. Rob Monroe Says:

    We picked up a lot of pointers after Abby arrived and feel like we’ve let down the passing-it-along to you guys! I’ll email you right now….

  3. sarah b. Says:

    Wow! He has chunked up well! our little guy is still just 10 lbs and he started out at 8 lbs 8 oz, but he’s a peanut – 25th percentile. Sleepy smiles are the best at that age! Love.them! Keep taking care of yourself so you can take care of him…sometimes taking care of yourself is the hardest part, or has been for me anyway.

  4. alianora Says:

    Yay for the Critter! Let me know when you want to try Skype this week.

  5. ansley Says:

    Congrats on lil critter! I know its not what you planned w/ the birth, but so worth every ounce of pain you go through, c-section or even vaginal delivery. In no time at all, you will feel like your old self again and be running around after him. He looks beautiful! Boys are wonderful!!!! Get your rest….and welcome to Motherhood!

  6. Jennifer Says:

    Sleepy smiles–yay! Brace yourself for the real smiles, though, because they will absolutely knock your heart right outta your chest. Tell the Critter that the Three Peas (er, that’s my family) says “way to go” on the weight-gaining front, too.


Leave a Reply

