Growing a Critter

We’re growing him on the outside now

the news from my cervix August 16, 2007

Filed under: birth,development,knitting — crittermama @ 10:56 am

OK, time for the weekly cervical update! I just got back from my regular doctor’s appointment, and was told that I’m 50% effaced and about 1 cm dilated. I’m 39 weeks along today, but it could still be a while. Standard procedure is to schedule an induction at 39 weeks, but to hope that we don’t have to do that. I *really* want to avoid an induction, so I think we’ll schedule it for right at 42 weeks. I’ll be pretty uncomfortable, but I want to trust the millions of years of evolution and billions of women who have come before me in letting my body take the lead on this.

In related news, here’s how I look these days

38 weeks

There’s also some excitement on the knitting front!

Critter Papa gave me a ball winder and swift for my birthday last week – whoo! I would never have gotten them for myself, but MAN did he do a great job on the gift giving front. Here’s a picture of me enjoying my new toys.

And here’s the new baby blanket that I cast on for last week – much improved!

new blankie

 

4 Responses to “the news from my cervix”

  1. knittingnoob Says:

    You look great! You look better than me and you’re a few weeks ahead of me, Im pretty jealous :p

    If you can avoid being induced, go for it! I’ve had to be induced twice so far, so while I have no “normal” labor to compare it to, it did seem harder. Who knows! Both times were because the boys were almost 9 pounds 2 and a half weeks early. Ick. We’ll see what happens this time around.

    I love the baby blanket, it’s adorable! Great colors.

    Good luck!

  2. Heather Says:

    Look at that beautiful belly! I hope you don’t have to be induced, but do think about the concern that the critter could get too big and you could need a c-section, or your fluid levels could start to drop, etc. You’re more pregnant than I ever was and you look amazing!

  3. Sarah Says:

    You’d better get knitting on that blanket! Don’t know you that babies wait to be born until their knits are done? 🙂

  4. Jennifer Says:

    There are worse things that induction. Not that I would plan to be induced if I didn’t have to, but in the larger scheme of things, there are much worse things. So don’t fret too much! You may not even need to be induced.


Leave a Reply

