Growing a Critter

We’re growing him on the outside now

Doula article August 6, 2007

Filed under: birth,family — crittermama @ 1:58 pm

Critter Papa and I have decided to hire a doula to help us during labor and delivery. She’s not a nurse, a midwife or a doctor – she’s not there for medical assistance or to actually deliver the baby. She’s there as someone who has been to many births and has a big toolbox of labor coping strategies to help laboring women with whatever they need.

They are not there to replace the mother’s partner. Rather, they can provide support to the partner (who is probably uncomfortable with the amount of discomfort that the mother is experiencing) and give them reassurance as well. During the doula orientation we went to, we learned something that has really stuck with us: couples that hire a doula for birth have better relationships with each other six months after the baby is born than those that don’t have a doula. That’s all I need!

CNN has a story today on what a doula is and does. Check it out.

 

4 Responses to “Doula article”

  1. Rob Monroe Says:

    I kind of wish we had used a doula instead of a mother-in-law. I love her and apreciate her very much, but she was not helpful to me during the process. I began to realize this as we arrived at the hospital, but it was too late then!

    Good call.

  2. Melisa Says:

    Everyone I know that has used a doula has nothing but wonderful things to say about how it helped in the birthing babies process.

  3. Jennifer Says:

    I think it’s a terrific idea. I’d like to do that next time around. It gives the husband some relief from being the primary advocate for you.

  4. I’m so glad you hired a doula! I hope your birth was wonderful!


Leave a Reply

