Growing a Critter

We’re growing him on the outside now

Dropping the baby and new blankie? July 31, 2007

Filed under: body weirdness,development,knitting — crittermama @ 6:39 am

So…. I think he may have dropped. I ate a GINORMOUS lunch on Sunday and didn’t feel all uncomfortable the way I have been lately. I haven’t had much heartburn, but I have had some, and now I don’t at all. I’ve been told that I’m carrying low, so I haven’t had some of the can’t-catch-your-breath problems that other pregnant ladies have, but I do feel like each breath is a bit easier now. It could still be several weeks, but still… this is something!

Here’s the latest picture of me and my fullness

35 weeks, with tomatoes

So, with the critter coming along pretty soon (this Thursday will be 37 weeks), I’ve been thinking more and more about a blankie for the little one. I was the grateful recipient of a BUNCH of mercerized cotton at the DC-area stash swap back in January, so I thought I’d use that to make a Mason-Dixon blankie.

The pattern in the book calls for four colors, but I have about a million. Then again, part of the Mason Dixon ethos is to use what’cha got and enjoy all those colors. Then again AGAIN, I did at least want to adhere to the rough color scheme that we’ve got going for the nursery: blues, greens and browns, with just a touch of orange and yellow. See image here.

So I selected an assortment of colors from the mercerized cotton…

rough configuration for baby blanket

…and I started to knit. Here’s about what I have so far:

beginnings of baby blanket

I liked it VERY much in my head. Now that I see what I’ve got so far, I…. don’t know. I’m not sure I like having ALL of those colors, since it feels a little TOO haphazard for me. I may check out the big cotton sale that A Tangled Skein is starting next weekend and load up on many balls of just a few colors. I’ll keep working on what I’ve got this week and decide after I’ve added another color or two. What do you think?

Thanks!

 

3 Responses to “Dropping the baby and new blankie?”

  1. sarah b. Says:

    For what it’s worth, I love it! I think the colors work quite well together. It does sound like you’ve dropped! So exciting!

  2. knittingnoob Says:

    So jealous, I never dropped with the other two, but I seem to carry awfully low as it is. I have to eat 4 or 5 times a day cause there just isn’t room in there for baby and food. Happy 37 weeks! I’m trailing behind you a bit at 33. The good news is I get to have her early, as I did the other two, because I grow them big.

    I like the colors… except for the pink/orange. Then again its hard to tell till its finished and a photo is never the same as real life. I really like the bottom 4 colors though.

    Happy knitting and baby growing!

  3. Elsie Says:

    Just wanna say the is very useful, Thanks taking your
    time and efforts to be able to this.


Leave a Reply

