Growing a Critter

We’re growing him on the outside now

it’s been a while – all is well May 16, 2007

Filed under: development,home training,knitting — crittermama @ 7:10 am

I think it’s been about a month and a half since my last update – whoops! Things have been VERY busy around here, and I don’t see how they’re going to let up any time soon! So I’ll make this post photo-heavy to catch up in a short amount of time.

We had the 20 week ultrasound and found out that it’s a boy!

Critter scan 3

There’s lots to say about this development, but I’ll leave that for a later post. For now, I’ll say that I grew up with all girls, Critter Pa grew up with all boys, so one of us was going to have to adjust!

My nephew, the Mooselet, arrived two weeks early (but two weeks later than we thought he was going to), and he’s beautiful. He also loves the blankie I knit for him.

Mooselet on blankie

I went to the Maryland Sheep & Wool Festival, and met this handsome gentleman

sweet alpaca face 2

And I’m getting bigger!

25 weeks

Mother’s Day was great – we had a cookout with other expectant families in the neighborhood that I met through my prenatal yoga class. And Dave got me Anne Lamott’s Operating Instructions, which I love already!

 

8 Responses to “it’s been a while – all is well”

  1. Marcy Says:

    Found your blog through the Tag Surfer; Anne Lamott is wonderful. Congrats on your boy; best wishes for a smooth pregnancy and delivery and especially for the first month.

  2. elan Says:

    Boys rock, I’ve got three, you’ll have lots of fun & you’ve already got a made to order playmate.

  3. Hillary Says:

    A boy! Oh my gosh! Do you like my brilliant reaction?

    Congrats on your auntness too. That’s a whole different, special joy.

  4. sarah b. Says:

    I love Anne Lamott, and haven’t read that one yet! I need to add it to my list! AND, I am in almost the exact same situation…the husband grew up with boys, I grew up with girls. We were convinced we were having a girl, and we’re having a boy. I completely relate to the adjustment there. 🙂 Now, I can’t imagine myself not being a boy’s mom!

  5. Lisa Says:

    Hurray!!!! I’m so excited… and thrilled to see Critter’s photo op! I don’t know about boys, but I *do* know that he’s going to be brilliant. His cousin is adorable, too. Glad to hear you had a happy mother’s day. I was pampered indulgently by my splendid husband. Enjoy reading… and prehaps you’ll share with me when you’re done?

  6. Lisa Says:

    OH! and I forgot to say, you really look fabulous. Pregnant women aren’t supposed to look that good!

  7. Jennifer Says:

    I totally should of thought of sending you that book. I read it ages ago, and I thought it was hilarious, and knew you would, too. Glad that Dave thought of it.

    Also, you look GAWJUS, absolutely GAWJUS. Really, you are a propaganda model of a pregnant woman, my dear. Lovely! And of course, it could go without saying–but why should it?–that the critter is cooking along so nicely! How fun to see his first real picture. Yay! I so can’t wait to meet him after he’s born. Boys are awesome. You are going to love having a baby boy, I promise.

  8. Alison W. Says:

    So glad to hear all is well and to see pictures!! Hugs to all of you!!


Leave a Reply

