Growing a Critter

We’re growing him on the outside now

S.O.B.s February 19, 2007

Filed under: body weirdness — crittermama @ 7:44 pm

WARNING: if you are squeamish about vomiting, read no further!

For about six weeks, I was queasy all of the time, but only actually tossed my cookies once (I’m not counting the three-barf migrane here). It was icky and I felt awful, but I didn’t have to maintain and up-close-and-personal relationship with my toilet, so I was grateful. I felt better wearing seasickness bands on my wrists, and for that I was also grateful.

Then I hit the 12-week mark and started to feel a bit better. Hallelujah! I’m in the second trimester! I’ll have energy! Vim! Vigor! And no more vomity feelings!

Well, that was then, and this is a whole new ballgame. I’m feeling pretty good, actually. HOWEVER. The days of queasy-but-no-vomit have been replaced with the S.O.B.s: Sudden Onset Barfing Syndrome. The S.O.B.s can overtake you at any time, and give you about 20 seconds of warning to run to the bathroom and shoved your significant other out of the way before turning you into a heaving mess. I don’t recommend the S.O.B.s, but if you *do* have to have them, I especially don’t recommend having them while you are in the middle of what should have been a delicious breakfast, complete with sliced fresh strawberries on top. Half of which are now in the plumbing system, and the other half in the trash.

Most of my barfing experience lo, these past 15 year or so, have been hangover or migrane related. Many more related to hangovers than migranes, particularly in the college and post-college years. Those typically manifested with a splitting headache upon waking up in the morning and an urgent need to void the (mostly empty) contents of my stomach upon any movement, sudden or otherwise. It would last pretty much all day, but never was I able to eat much of anything before it came back up again. So the barfing, while awful and upsetting, was relatively limited in its volume.

That’s not the case when you’re in the middle of eating breakfast and you suddenly realize that you’re going to see it again. There’s more volume. And less fluid, simply because you haven’t been up that long, and your tea has just cooled enough to start drinking it. And for the rest of the day, I’ve thought about how that felt, and that has NOT helped to keep subsequent icky feelings at bay.

My dear husband is downstairs right now, fixing some dinner for himself while I stay away from any food smells. If I’m feeling brave later, I may have a mango.

 

3 Responses to “S.O.B.s”

  1. Carrie Says:

    Congrats! On the baby, NOT on the vomiting. 🙂

  2. Molly Says:

    I’ve wanted to say congrats and comment on your blogs several times, but the darn thing just doesn’t like me! I hope this one works, and that you’re having better luck keeping the meals down. 🙂

  3. mamie Says:

    i totally had spontaneous barfing when i was first preggers. we’d be hiking and i would turn and toss into the bushes. then we would laugh. it stopped at 16 weeks or so.


Leave a Reply

