Growing a Critter

We’re growing him on the outside now

12 weeks! February 8, 2007

Filed under: development — crittermama @ 3:51 pm

The lil’ critter is now 12 weeks along and everything seems to be fine! At yesterday’s checkup, I *finally* found out my blood type (which I’ve always requested every time I donated blood): A plus! Everyone says that it’s actually A positive, but I prefer to think of it as A PLUS. I think I actually would have been disappointed to find out that I was B-. Heh.

That’s the silly part of this post, of course. The exciting part is that we heard the heartbeat! It’s somewhere between swish-swish-swish-swish and wcheeo-wcheeoo-wcheoo-wcheoo. Maybe closer to the latter. It really was a beautiful, amazing thing and I was so happy to have CritterPaPa there with me to hold my hand and give me a hug when I got all teary. Wow.

We’ve now told a number of friends, but I’m still holding off on telling my organization’s Steering Committee. They’ve got a lot of decisions to make in the coming weeks, and I’m just not sure that I’m ready for them all to know. I’ll tell a couple of them, but if you happen to know any of them (or if you happen to BE any of them), please keep this on the down-low for just a little longer. Merci.

Finally, sister Alia sent me a wonderful, hilarious care package the other day! I’ll try to post pictures as soon as I figure out how…

 

4 Responses to “12 weeks!”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Congratulations! I’m so excited for you!

  2. alianora Says:

    A+. I should’ve known that you’d be an overachiever even with your blood type. đŸ˜›

    Im glad you liked your present! It made both Brandus and I laugh.

  3. Jennifer Says:

    It figures that you have A plus blood! So do my boys here. I’m the outlier, I guess, with the O plus. O plus? Not as much fun!

    Anyway, you’ve made it through 12 whole weeks, and for that, I am giving you a big old “congratulations!” First trimester is hard, and I think you deserve a big treat for getting through it!

    And yay for a heartbeat!

  4. Melisa Says:

    I am disturbed by the fact that you are referring to your husband as CritterPaPa. That is scary and creepy.

    ON the other hand, I wish that you could be an underachiever at something. Not everyone needs to excel at their blood type.


Leave a Reply

