Growing a Critter

We’re growing him on the outside now

Lifted from an email to a friend January 20, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — crittermama @ 8:46 am

I’m still much more focused on being pregnant as opposed to “about to become a new mom.” I know that I’ll need to get MUCH more focused on the latter at some point in the not-too-distant future, but for now, I’m still trying to figure out how not to feel sick all the time. I bought some of the seasickness bands and have been wearing them for the past two days. So far, so good. Hard for my scientist brain to accept that they’re doing anything without a double-blind study, but still, I’m not taking them off if I’m feeling ok, you know?

A close friend passed along about four books when we told them on Sunday, including Baby Bargains. I’m VERY happy about that one. (Also, Baby Operating Instructions, which is just clever and funny.) My high school friend tells me that she’s got a black belt in shopping at garage sales and thrift stores – that’s something I plan to work on QUITE a lot.

I did wake up in the middle of the night with my first miscarrage nightmare. Not very nice. To make it worse, my mom was in the dream, telling me that “maybe I just wasn’t ready yet.” Sheesh. Thankfully, CritterPa woke up and let me snuggle in close and told me that everything was fine. I still had to go to the bathroom to make sure everything was ok (it was).

I’m 9 weeks, 2 days now. The Critter is about the size of a grape or an olive and moving around. Not that I can feel it yet, of course. My youngest sister is about 25 weeks now, and she says that it just keeps getting weirder. I believe her!

Big day, hoss. Time to stop typing and get out there for a run!

 

One Response to “Lifted from an email to a friend”

  1. alianora Says:

    Yeesh. M/C nightmares are icky and bad and very scary. I havent had many. Mainly, mine of been of the “oh! i had a baby!” and then five seconds later, i have MISPLACED THE BABY and cant find it. its very panicworthy in a totally different way.

    25 weeks! and i still have a innie belly button! YAY!


Leave a Reply

