Growing a Critter

We’re growing him on the outside now

Travel and 12+1 months September 22, 2008

Filed under: family,profession — crittermama @ 8:52 pm

On the high seas, the crew never uses the number 13 – they say 12+1. In deference to my paranoid (yet wonderful) husband and his superstitions, I’ll do the same. I believe he got this from Linda Greenlaw’s book The Hungry Ocean: A Swordboat Captain’s Journey. She’s the other captain in The Perfect Storm – the one that actually finds the fish (sorry, seafaring George Clooney). All that being said, we’re very happy that the Critter has hit the 13-month mark as of this weekend. Hooray!

I recently took my first out-of-town trip away from my boys. We all survived! I left early last Saturday morning on the train for NYC, heading up to do 3 focus groups with African expats living in the city about their food preferences and attitudes. I learned a LOT. On Sunday evening, I flew to Milwaukee where the AZA annual conference was held this year. It was different, more spread out than previous years, and a bit more difficult to find everyone I was looking for. But I was still so busy meeting people and going to sessions that I didn’t have time to dwell too much on being away from my boys.

Of course I did end up showing my baby’s pictures to friends, colleagues and even the stranger next to me on the plane! Dave and the critter did just fine, though we were all very happy to see each other when I got back on Wednesday! It’s good to be home but I’m glad that I know I can travel and not freak out.

The boy is walking more and more now, and I feel like he’ll be picking up tons of words once he gets the walking down. Rob says the same thing happened with Abby – that she was in a holding pattern with language and signs until she figured out walking. We’ll see what happens!

We’re looking forward to fall and enjoying autumn traditions with our little guy. Gotta go back to the pumpkin patch! Something tells me that it will be a little different this year…

DSC00586.JPG

 

3 Responses to “Travel and 12+1 months”

  1. allison Says:

    squishy baby! And I wouldnt know about the whole walking then talking thing, as the kid has JUST NOW THIS WEEK started regularly saying (and waving) “HIIII.” and he’s added “please” to his words.

    and he’s blowing kisses. I really kinda love daycare.

    Happy 12+1!

  2. Hillary Says:

    Good job with the first travel away Critterma, Pa, and Critter!

    Walking is just about all Graham does. No waving, no blowing kisses, or other such cuteness. Just lots of walking and, uh, running. So I hope you’re one-at-a-time theory is right.

  3. RobMonroe Says:

    The Critter is much cuter now than in that pumpkin picture. :o)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.